Relational Equity

I’ve been told that my weakness is that I’m too loyal-I can live with that. Time has taught me that relational investment is more than worth the risk. It’s perplexing to me that people can be more committed to their financial investments than what they invest in people. The people you invest in now are the people who will be invested in you tomorrow. And if you live as if you don’t need people, you will get to prove it later.

“Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you.” John 15:16
Everybody invests their time in something that they find to their liking. It is inevitable, because a person who invests in nothing lives for nothing and we have to live for something. But the thing is, once you invest in something and put your time and effort into it, you can’t get that time you spent back. And quite often people don’t invest in the right things and end up wasting time.
In John 15:16 it tells us “ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain.” When I’ve read this verse other times I didn’t think too much about it but now I can see, the “fruit that remains” is the people we leave behind.
It is just like Jesus, who invested His whole life to the people. We must also invest our lives in people. We are all being called to invest in people, to spend our time helping them realize who God is and grow in Him. If we invest in people then we leave a legacy behind us. If we invest in worldly things then our legacy will be forgotten.

This entry was posted in Devotions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

